Reykjavik Cat

I’ve been told that I’m one of the only people who goes to Iceland. This is obviously untrue, but it does seem that most people who go to Iceland and then photograph it generally seem to take pictures of geysir and horses and the northern lights. Now, in my defense, I’d like to say that I intended to take pictures of the northern lights, but fog and mist caused that adventure to be cancelled, and I have to try again some other time. 

Two things have gone wrong for me (other than the weather) when taking pictures in Iceland: I brought the wrong camera lenses for the types of photos I actually took, and I didn’t wear my new old-people glasses (readers) so as to be able to see the pictures I was taking (all of them came out rather fuzzy, and therefore will not be appearing here; I had a wonderful picture of a horse, if only it had been in focus).

Reykjavik cat on wall small
Extraordinary coloring I’ve never seen on a cat before

However, those failures have taught me to bring the right lenses, in both senses of the word. The wrong lens on my camera equals a disappointing picture; not using my readers means I can’t see what I’m trying to take a picture of. The expense of living and learning is the frustrating part about making mistakes, I have found; being a happy idiot gets more and more expensive, and I need to learn faster.  

In lieu of glorious images of the northern lights, however, there is this marvelous cat, who I followed around his neighborhood, probably irking him into looking directly at me. One of the things you can’t help but notice about Reykjavik is how colorful parts of it are, and this cat is no exception. This picture is available on Fine Art America.

What Do You Think?

